I scrutinize ingredient lists. I check for any kinds of preservatives or anything that might indicate meat or some other product that I know my body is likely to reject, and that includes sweeteners like honey and agave.
But, I can honestly say, I never stopped to think about what’s in my beer. Yes, I drink beer. And I drink wine. I know, they don’t fall in the category of healthy necessarily, but sometimes you just gotta have a cocktail.
Then, I came across Barnivore and this piece of information: When filtering the drinks prior to bottling, companies can use things like isinglass (from fish bladder,) gelatin, egg whites, and sea shells, among other things. These products grab onto the impurities and make it easier to catch them in the filters, though there are many animal-free alternatives in use.
I feel completely enlightened.
Barnivore offers a Vegan Alcohol Directory where you can search your libation of choice and see if there are animal products in it.
I am happy to report, my favs are all on the safe list. Are yours?
Check out the Barnivore directory to find out!